Meanwhile, back in the backend...

Meanwhile, back in the backend...

My app is all over the place, literally, including space!

ยท

1 min read

I had to spend some time in the backend setting up some essential infrastructure components of my app.

First, a MySQL database server hosted by Digital Ocean in Singapore.

Second, a Database Proxy Server, developed by me, hosted by Render in Virginia, USA.

There's something very satisfying about seeing the following:

Issuing a database query from my Postman client in New Zealand...
...seeing it route the request to my Database Proxy server in Virginia
...which executes the database query in Singapore
...then responds with 10,000 records back to the proxy server, then back to me in New Zealand. Over Starlink!

All in around 1 second or so (I haven't measured exactly)

I love the backend. No div-centering involved ๐Ÿ˜Š

ย